Watch

I’m at the seaside on a week’s spiritual retreat…beautiful first morning.

image

My tale, though, isn’t from here, but is another answered prayer account (they’re coming so thick and fast these days I can’t help but note a few down).

My best friend’s birthday was earlier this month, and I really wanted to get her a ‘real’ gift. Something she’d like and find useful. Nice but not just an “I had to get you something, and this looked cute in the gift shop” type of token. Earlier in the year she surprised me with a new handbag in the post for my birthday. It was exactly the right size, and the same style as my then-current one, which I loved, and which she had no way of knowing was falling apart beyond repair. I wanted something just as fitting.

I realised I didn’t know what I was looking for, and would need guidance on this one. I gave more of an unspoken acknowledgment of this than a specific prayer, as I headed into town on the Unknown Hunt.

The direction was clear. Debenhams. I wondered around the other options in my mind, but the impression was so distinct, Debenhams it had to be. The same was true as I headed in, my reflex being to default to casual browser mode, curiously exploring all floors and maybe spotting something along the way. But the strong impression was there again, and against my best reasoning I headed towards the jewellery section. It was full of jewellery (funnily enough), which definitely wasn’t making it onto the list.

But as I turned to leave the section, I spotted it. A small watch, with a pale-ish turquoise strap. Beautiful in a not-too-dainty-nor-chunky-nor-blingy-nor-boring kind of way. Exactly her colour (‘hers’ both in terms of her liking it and it really suiting her).

Time to go, but I dithered once more and had to be prompted into getting what I knew deep down was perfect. The moment when the cashier stated the price and I realised I hadn’t spotted the 20%-off sticker was another one of those ‘reassurance’ moments.

Itching to ask if it had arrived yet on the actual day, I’d half forgotten when the acknowledgment came in a couple of days later. But it was a few days after that that I really got the smile-inducing news. My friend’s current watch had just stopped working; a gift just in time!

🙂

Leave a Reply

